December 02, 2022

LIST: Winners of the 70th Palanca Awards

  • HOME
  • Blog
  • LIST: Winners of the 70th Palanca Awards
  • The Carlos Palanca Memorial Awards for Literature, which staged its 70th edition after a two-year hiatus, recently held its annual ceremony to honor the winning writers, poets, and playwrights. The revelry happened at the Marquis Events Place in Bonifacio Global City, where a total of 59 writers, 28 of which are first-time awardees, were chosen as this year’s recipients.

    IMAGE from CID Communication

    The total number of writing categories awarded was 22, as the Novel and Nobela categories were open this year, with the surprise addition of a Special Prize for each. All winning entries were evaluated by an elite roster of literary luminaries handpicked for their respective expertise.

    It was Dr. Nicanor G. Tiongson who stood as the Guest of Honor and Speaker at this year’s awarding ceremony. A professor emeritus of the U.P. Film Institute and former Dean of the U.P. Diliman College of Mass Communication, he has shaped many young minds in the fields of film, media, literature, and theater. Dr. Tiongson is also a founding member and former chair of the Manunuri ng Pelikulang Pilipino, among other organizations he helped establish. He has published various studies on Philippine film and theater and harnessed the power of the written word to create the film books, articles, reviews, and interviews that earned him various accolades throughout his career.

    IMAGE from CID Communication

    Named after businessman and philanthropist Don Carlos Palanca Sr., the Palanca Awards continuously seeks to cultivate Philippine Literature by providing incentives for writers and serving as a treasury of these literary gems. It is considered the gold standard in writing excellence, highly coveted by Filipino writers, young and old, here and abroad alike.

    Below is the list of winners of the 70th Palanca Awards:

    Kabataan Division

    Kabataan Sanaysay
    1st Prize – Glorious Zavannah Exylin C. Alesna, Pamimintana
    2nd Prize – Hansly Kendrich C. Saw, Ang Larong Naipanalo Ko
    3rd Prize – John Clarence D. Espedido, Mga Bantas ang Nagsilbi kong Guro

    Kabataan Essay
    1st Prize – Glorious Zahara Exylin C. Alesna, Home is a Bowl of Warm Soup
    2nd Prize – Jenine A. Santos, Covid-19 is My Alter Ego
    3rd Prize – Gavin Micah T. Herrera, The Social Pandemic

    Filipino Division

    Maikling Kuwento
    1st Prize – Charmaine M. Lasar, Ang Value ng X Kapag Choppy si Mam
    2nd Prize – Abegail E. Pariente, Barangay Alitaptap
    3rd Prize – Alec Joshua B. Paradeza, Kung sa Bawat Pagtawag ay Pagtawid sa Dagat

    Maikling Kuwentong Pambata
    1st Prize – Mark Norman S. Boquiren, Si VeRaptor1 Laban kay Trolakuz
    2nd Prize – Wilfredo Farrales Sarangaya, Balong Batsit, ang Bidang Bulilit at Bayaning Bulinggit
    3rd Prize – Benedick N. Damaso, Mirasol para kay Lola Sol

    1st Prize – Venice Kayla Dacanay Delica, Kung Magkapalad Ka’t Mangmang
    2nd Prize – Jhon Lester P. Sandigan, Tatlong Pancit Canton
    3rd Prize – Nathaniel R. Alcantara, Isang Dekadang Kontrata sa Piling ng mga Mikrobyo

    1st Prize – Ralph Lorenz G. Fonte, Uyayi ng mga Patay na Buwan
    2nd Prize – Enrique S. Villasis, Pintula
    3rd Prize – Sonny C. Sendon, Mga Anino sa Guho at iba pang mga tula

    Tula Para sa Mga Bata
    1st Prize – Christian R. Vallez, Tula, Tula, Paano ka Ginawa?
    2nd Prize – Rebecca T. Anonuevo, Ale Bangbang
    3rd Prize – Ninia H. dela Cruz, Mga Pahina sa Alaala ng Nanay

    Dulang May Isang Yugto
    1st Prize – Andrew Bonifacio L. Clete, Punks Not Dead
    2nd Prize – Layeta P. Bucoy, Dance of the Foolies
    3rd Prize – Ryan Machado, Huling Haraya nina Ischia at Emeteria

    Dulang Ganap ang Haba
    1st Prize – Joshua Lim So, Mga Silid ng Unos: Tomo Uno
    2nd Prize – Rodolfo C. Vera, Anak Datu
    3rd Prize – Steven Prince C. Fernandez, Badung

    Dulang Pampelikula
    1st Prize – Avelino Mark C. Balmes, Jr., Amoy Pulbos
    2nd Prize – Noreen Besmar Capili, DOS
    3rd Prize – Ehdison M. Dimen, Ang Pananalangin sa Getsemani

    Regional Division

    Short Story – Cebuano
    1st Prize – Noel P. Tuazon, Barang
    2nd Prize – Manu Avenido, Ikigai
    3rd Prize – Januar E. Yap, John Wayne ug ang Goldfish kong Inahan

    Short Story – Hiligaynon
    1st Prize – Peter Solis Nery, Ang Macatol Kag Ang “Queen of Relief”
    2nd Prize – Early Sol A. Gadong, Malipayon nga Katapusan
    3rd Prize – Ritchie D. Pagunsan, Esperanza

    Short Story – Ilokano
    1st Prize – Oswald Ancheta Valente, Ti Kimat Ken Ti Silag
    2nd Prize – Remedios S. Tabelisma-Aguillon, Ti Ubing
    3rd Prize – Rodolfo D. Agatep Jr., Karton

    English Division

    Short Story
    1st Prize – Ian Rosales Casocot, Ceferina in Apartment 2G
    2nd Prize – Exie Abola, Ardor
    3rd Prize – Hammed Bolotaolo, The Money Changer

    Short Story for Children
    1st Prize – NO WINNER
    2nd Prize – Elyrah L. Salanga-Torralba, Cloud Keeper
    3rd Prize – Heather Ann Ferrer Pulido, My Grandma who lives in Half a House

    1st Prize – Alfonso Tomas P. Araullo, Letter from Tawi-Tawi
    2nd Prize – Michaela Sarah De Leon, Filipino Millennial Monomyth
    3rd Prize – Alexandra Francesca A. Bichara, The Helmsman’s Daughter

    1st Prize – Ramil Digal Gulle, Bol-anon Prodigal
    2nd Prize – Soleil David, A Few Dawns from now, A Sunfish
    3rd Prize – Lawrence Anthony R. Bernabe, The Blueline

    Poetry Written for Children
    1st Prize – Elyrah L. Salanga-Torralba, An Empty Chair in the Corner
    2nd Prize – Peter Solis Nery, Picnic, Symphony and other concepts a 4th Grader needs to know
    3rd Prize – NO WINNER

    One-Act Play
    1st Prize – Ronald S. Covar, The Cave Dwellers
    2nd Prize – Bonifacio P. Ilagan, Salvaged Eman
    3rd Prize – Maria Kristine B. Roxas-Miller, Agencia Feliz

    Full-length Play
    1st Prize – Layeta P. Bucoy, Orgullo Compound
    2nd Prize – Jay Mariano Crisostomo IV, Black Bordello
    3rd Prize – Dustin Edward D. Celestino, The Lost Filipino Patriots of America

    Grand Prize – Raymundo T. Pandan, Jr, Bittersweetland
    Special Prize – Alvin Dela Serna Lopez, 1762

    Grand Prize (Pangunahing Gantimpala) – Khavn, ANTIMARCOS
    Special Prize (Natatanging Gantimpala) – Edgar Calabia Samar, Teorya ng Unang Panahon

    This is a press release. Minor edits were made prior to publishing.

    You might also like...
    Yana Sonoda Meets K-Pop Star Cha Eun-woo in Manila Concert!
    April 05, 2024
    (UNDER RENOVATION) Greenbelt & Glorietta to Undergo Major Transformation
    April 22, 2024
    GUIDE: Where to Dine, Stay, and More This Holy Week
    March 25, 2024
    GUIDE: Restaurant and Mall Operating Hours this Holy Week 2024
    March 25, 2024
    Celebrate World Tiramisu Day or Any Other Day at Santis – Yakal
    March 22, 2024