July 01, 2020

Duterte Announces New Quarantine Classifications Effective Until June 15

  • HOME
  • Blog
  • Duterte Announces New Quarantine Classifications Effective Until June 15
  • In a televised press conference on Tuesday, June 30, President Rodrigo Duterte announced the implementation of new quarantine classifications with an updated list of areas that will take effect for two weeks starting July 1 to 15.

    The areas still under a more relaxed general community quarantine (GCQ) are National Capital Region, Benguet, Cavite, Rizal, Lapu Lapu City, Mandaue City, Leyte, Ormoc, Southern Leyte, Talisay City in Cebu, and towns of Minglanilla and Consolacion in Cebu province.

    President Rodrigo Duterte during a meeting with the Inter-Agency Task Force on the Emerging Infectious Diseases (IATF-EID) core members at the Malago Clubhouse in Malacañang last June 30. /IMAGE Presidential Communications Operations Office

    On the other hand, modified general community quarantine (MGCQ) with “strict local action” shall be implemented in the following areas:

    • Abra, Baguio City, Ifugao, Kalinga (CAR)
    • Ilocos Norte, La Union, Pangasinan (Region 1)
    • Cagayan, Isabela (Region 2)
    • Bataan, Bulacan, Nueva Ecija, Pampanga, Angeles City (Region 3)
    • Batangas, Laguna, Quezon, Lucena City (Region 4-A)
    • Palawan, Puerto Princesa City (Region 4-B)
    • Albay, Camarines Norte, Camarines Sur, Naga City (Region 5)
    • Capiz, Iloilo, Iloilo City, Negros Occidental, Bacolod City (Region 6)
    • Cebu Province, Bohol, Negros Oriental (Region 7)
    • Tacloban City, Western Samar (Region 8)
    • Zamboanga City, Zamboanga del Sur (Region 9)
    • Bukidnon, Misamis Occidental, Misamis Oriental, Cagayan de Oro (Region 10)
    • Davao del Norte, Davao del Sur, Davao City, Davao de Oro (Region 11)
    • Cotabato, South Cotabato (Region 12)
    • Agusan del Norte, Butuan City (Region 13)
    • Maguindanao, Lanao del Sur (BARMM)

    The aforementioned areas should provide a localized community quarantine, zoning, and strict enforcement of minimum health standards with a scale-up of health system capacity in relation to the “strict local action” protocol. Isolation of overseas Filipinos, locally stranded individuals, and close contacts shall also be observed.

    Meanwhile, Cebu City is still placed under enhanced community quarantine (ECQ) due to the steady increase in the number of COVID-19 infections in the area. The rest of the Philippines, however, would be placed under MGCQ under “low risk” classification.

    As of June 30, there are a total of 37,514 cases of COVID-19 in the country with 10,233 recoveries and 1,266 mortalities.

    Source: Philippine News Agency
    Image grabbed from Presidential Communications Operations Office

    Recent Comments
    What do you think about this article?
    ★★ ★★★ ★★★★ ★★★★★


    You might also like...
    Festival of Lights 2020 Sparks Hope for the Holidays with Interactive Digital Lights and Sound Show
    November 26, 2020
    7 Reasons Why BGC is Home to Everyone this Christmas!
    November 23, 2020
    LIST: Where to Buy 2021 Planners and Journals
    November 21, 2020
    MANILART2020 Onsite and Online: Reenvisioning the Future of Art Fairs and Exhibitions
    November 20, 2020
    Worldbex Services International Officially Launches Its First Virtual Event WOCEE WIRED!
    November 19, 2020