November 23, 2019

LIST: Official 2020 Holidays in PH

  • HOME
  • Blog
  • LIST: Official 2020 Holidays in PH
  • With less than two months into the year 2020, many are already looking forward to holidays and long weekend schedules. The good news is the Malacañan Palace has released Proclamation No. 845, declaring the regular holidays and special (non-working) days for 2020!

     

    Listed below are the holidays as stated in the proclamation as referred to in our calendar above. The Regular Holidays are marked in yellow and the Special (Non-working) Holidays in blue. Eidul Fitr and Eidul Adha are not included.

    Regular Holidays

    Date Event
    January 1 (Wed) New Year’s Day
    April 9 (Thurs) Araw ng Kagitingan
    April 9 Maundy Thursday
    April 10 (Fri) Good Friday
    May 1 (Fri) Labor Day
    June 12 (Fri) Independence Day
    August 31 (Mon) National Heroes Day
    November 30 (Mon) Bonifacio Day
    December 25 (Fri) Christmas Day
    December 30 (Wed) Rizal Day

    Special (Non-Working) Holidays

    Date Event
    January 25 (Sat) Chinese New Year
    February 25 (Tue) EDSA People Power
    Revolution Anniversary
    April 11 (Sat) Black Saturday
    August 21 (Fri) Ninoy Aquino Day
    November 1 (Sun) All Saint’s Day
    November 2 (Mon) Additional special (non-working) holiday
    All Soul’s Day
    December 8 (Tue) Feast of the Immaculate
    Conception of Mary
    December 24 (Thurs) Additional special (non-working) holiday
    Christmas Eve
    December 31 (Thurs) Last day of the year

    The proclamation also made clear that the dates for Eidul Fitr and Eidul Adha will be announced on a later date after the approximate dates of the Islamic holidays in accordance with the Islamic Calendar.

    President Rodrigo Duterte signed the proclamation last November 15, which takes effect “immediately.”

    IMAGE Official Gazette

    Employees who work on regular holidays shall be paid at least 200% of their daily rate according to the Department of Labor and Employment. The pay rules for special (non-working) holidays provide that for work done, an employee shall be paid an additional 30% of his daily rate on the first eight hours.

    Also read:


    Sources: Official Gazette, Proclamation No. 845, Gov.ph

               
               
    Recent Comments
    What do you think about this article?
    ★★ ★★★ ★★★★ ★★★★★

    *

    You might also like...
    Celebrate an Auspicious Chinese New Year 2020 at City Of Dreams Manila
    January 25, 2020
    Starbucks PH Drops New Philippine Colored Relief Series
    January 25, 2020
    Nikkei Veinte/Veinte: What to Expect at the New Year, New Menu at Nikkei Manila
    January 24, 2020
    Panasonic Air Conditioning Philippines Ushers in the New Decade for Panasonic
    January 24, 2020
    What to Expect at Art Fair Philippines 2020
    January 24, 2020