June 03, 2021

DOT: Leisure Travelers From NCR plus Can Now Visit MGCQ Areas

  • HOME
  • Travel
  • DOT: Leisure Travelers From NCR plus Can Now Visit MGCQ Areas
  • Leisure travelers from NCR plus are now allowed to visit modified general community (MGCQ) destination areas, the Department of Tourism (DOT) announced.  

    The DOT gladly shared the news, especially for those who have been longing to travel. However, it was emphasized that some restrictions remain and safety and health protocol must be observed at all times. 

    “We are looking forward to once again see our tourism destinations welcome tourists from the NCR Plus area. Of course, this has to be done with utmost precaution,” Tourism Secretary Bernadette Romulo-Puyat said.

    Sugba Lagoon, Siargao/IMAGE from Department of Tourism’s Instagram account 

    The DOT also clarified that only point-to-point transit is allowed. No side trips shall be made unless pit stops and stopover solely for eating and personal necessities. In addition, travelers who are below 18 and above 65 years old are required to take an RT-PCR test prior to their flight.

    “The DOT shall continue to strengthen its coordination with our LGUs to ensure the strict compliance of health and safety protocols,” she added.  

    Also read: DOT Approves Staycation and P2P Air Travel, Half-priced RT-PCR Tests Resume under GCQ 

    Despite the lenient and more relax restrictions being implemented, Local Government Units (LGUs) still hold the authority to act accordingly.     

    “We continue to count on travelers to comply with minimum health protocols. I know our kababayans have been wanting to go out and enjoy during the summertime, but let us practice responsibility to protect ourselves and the communities in your chosen destinations,” Puyat ended.

    Also read: DOT: Accredited AEs in GCQ Areas to Accept Leisure Guests Aged 18-65 

    NCR Plus consists of Metro Manila and the surrounding provinces of Bulacan, Cavite, Laguna and Rizal.

    From June 1 to 30, the following places are under GCQ: NCR Plus, Abra, Baguio City, Kalinga, Mountain Province, Isabela, Nueva Vizcaya, Quirino, Batangas, Quezon, Iligan City, Davao City, Lanao del Sur, and Cotabato City.

    On the other hand, under the stricter modified enhanced community quarantine (MECQ) from June 1 to 15 are the following areas: Santiago and Cagayan in Region 2, Apayao, Benguet, Ifugao, Puerto Princesa, Iloilo City, Zamboanga City, Zamboanga Sibugay, Zamboanga del Sur, Zamboanga del Norte, Cagayan de Oro City, Butuan City and Agusan del Sur.

    The rest of the country shall be put under MGCQ until June 30.

    Source: Philippine News Agency 

    Written by Cedie Salido

    You might also like...
    WiiJUMP in Alabang: One of the Biggest Trampoline Parks in the Philippines
    Amor Laut Resort in Batangas: Where Fun in the Sun Doesn’t End in the Summer
    Alabang Central Market in Alabang: A One-stop Public Market for All Your Needs
    Filinvest City Central Park in Alabang: The Southies’ Urban Park and Community Center
    Madison Galleries in Alabang: A Convenient Destination for All Your Needs