December 24, 2021

WTA names PH as ‘World’s Leading Dive Destination 2021’

  • HOME
  • Travel
  • WTA names PH as ‘World’s Leading Dive Destination 2021’
  • The 2021 World Travel Awards (WTA) announced the Philippines is still the World’s Leading Dive Destination for 2021.

    Last week, the Department of Tourism Secretary Bernadette-Romulo Puyat attended the virtual awarding ceremony, in which the Philippines remains the titleholder since 2019.

    “This distinction is indeed a great privilege, yet, it underlines our great responsibility of protecting and conserving our underwater resources so that these will also be enjoyed and experienced in their pristine natural state by future generations,” Puyat said.

    Video from WTA

    The country outshined other equally beautiful places such as the Maldives, Great Barrier Reef in Australia, Azores Islands, Bora Bora in French Polynesia, Cayman Islands, Fiji, Galapagos Islands, and Mexico.

    Also read: Local Airline To Prioritize Relief Distribution Teams; Limits Cebu, Siargao Commercial Flights


    In addition to the world title given by the WTA, the Philippines was also named the Asia’s Leading Beach Destination and Diving Destination this year.

    This is the fifth time that the Philippines has won as Asia’s Leading Beach Destination and the third time in a row since 2019 to bag the Asia’s Leading Dive Destination award.

    Boracay Island/IMAGE from the DOT

    “We share this recognition with our tourism stakeholders, local government units, partner agencies, and all Filipinos who have been helping us promote our country’s attractions, products, and culture,” Puyat added.

    Also read: 2021 World Travel Awards Recognizes PH as Asia’s Top Beach, Dive Destination


    According to marine biologists, the Philippine Sea is dubbed as the ‘center of the center’ of aquatic biodiversity of so-called the ‘Coral Triangle’.

    The Coral Triangle refers to ocean covers which are approximately 5.7 million km2. The ocean covers equate to the richness and diversity of the Amazon rainforest. It consists of Malaysia, Indonesia, the Philippines, Papua New Guinea, the Solomon Islands, Fiji, and Northern Australia.  

    El Nido,Palawan/IMAGE from the DOT

    Meanwhile, the DOT also finding ways to promote the country’s beach and diving destinations such as Tubbataha Reefs Natural Park in Palawan, Anilao in Batangas, Malapascua and Moalboal in Cebu, Balicasag, Panglao and Anda in Bohol, and Puerto Galera in Oriental Mindoro.

    World Travel Award is a prestigious organization that was established in 1993. It’s a renowned award-giving body that aims to acknowledge, reward, and celebrate excellence across all key sectors of the travel, tourism, and hospitality industries. 

    Also read: DONATE NOW: Here’s How You Can Help The Victims Of Typhoon ‘Odette’

    Sources: WTA, PNA, Philippine Embassy, WWF 

    Written by Cedie Salido

    You might also like...
    Space & Time Cube+ in Pasay: PH’s First Immersive Digital Art Museum
    Friends Screen Golf in Alabang: Korea’s Favorite Golf Simulator Now in PH
    Screen Golf by KGolf in Alabang: Cutting-Edge Technology with LG Electronics
    WiiJUMP in Alabang: One of the Biggest Trampoline Parks in the Philippines
    Amor Laut Resort in Batangas: Where Fun in the Sun Doesn’t End in the Summer