Heritage Houses to Visit in Silay City, Negros Occidental
There are a number of heritage houses, mostly built at the turn of the 19th century, that still exist in the province of Negros Occidental. Remarkably well-preserved up to this day, these houses make the town of Silay in Negros known throughout the country.
Through these remaining heritage houses, present and future generations will now be able to look back and appreciate the yesteryear. Some of the remaining heritage houses which are preserved and are open to the public include the following:
/IMAGE Elmer B. Domingo
This house was built in the 1900s by the son of a Frenchman who settled in Silay in 1837 and who also installed the first economical sugar mill. This house was owned by Victor Gaston Fernandez who had married a Filipina from Batangas. This house was later on converted into a museum showcasing how sugar planters lived at the beginning of the century. This property has a huge front lawn, living room, and 12 bedrooms, combining Spanish and American colonial architectures. The house is located along Cinco de Noviembre Street in Silay and is open to the public open from Tuesdays to Sundays from 10:00 AM to 6:00 PM.
Bernardino Lopez Jalandoni House
This house was built in 1908 and was owned by Bernardino Lopez Jalandoni. It is also known as the Pink House due to its color. Similar to the Balay Negrense, this house was later on converted into a museum that showcases the affluence of Negros at the turn of the 19th century. All items on display are authentic period pieces. The house is located along Rizal Street in Silay and is open to the public from Tuesday to Sunday from 10:00 AM to 6:00 PM.
Aside from these houses, there are 23 more preserved heritage houses within the town of Silay in Bacolod that would mirror and relive the true Filipino experience up to the present time.
Image Source: Elmer B. Domingo, Hbalairos; Video from leovisionph in YouTube