May 13, 2015

Wonderful Vigan is Now a Wonder City!

  • HOME
  • Travel
  • Wonderful Vigan is Now a Wonder City!
  • Vigan-City-Calle-Crisologo-600x355

    Photo credit:

    A place of one but many. A place of many but one.

    Inaugurated this May 7, 2015, Vigan, Ilocos Sur, also known as the Heritage City, was officially hailed as one of the world’s New Seven Wonders Cities! The announcement was made through electronic media by the New7Wonders Foundation.

    Vigan was chosen as a Wonder City last December 8, 2014 by New7Wonders President Bernard Weber. A bronze plaque awarded to Vigan Mayor Eva Grace Medina was given to declare the city’s new status.

    Established in the 16th century, the historic city of Vigan in Ilocos Sur is an example of a best-preserved planned Spanish colonial town in Asia, completely having no parallel of the same likeness anywhere in East and South-East Asia. In fact, the New7Wonders Cities Foundation considers Vigan as the “best-preserved example of a planned Spanish colonial town in Asia.”

    Aside from being seen as a city of art, design and architecture, Vigan is also seen as a place of history and learning. Vigan does not only make tourists see but also feel and experience what it is like living in the past. It is also home for several ancestral houses turned museums displaying collections of historical records and artifacts since the Spanish Period. This city is also deemed a city of diverse cultures. Western, Eastern, European, Vigan has it all! Vigan reflects almost all the cultures around the world making the place truly remarkable.

    Weber congratulates each city on achieving their New7Wonders status and look forward to celebrating their election to the canon of 7 with their citizens in 2015.

    “The New7Wonders Cities will now join the New7Wonders of Nature and New7Wonders of the World in becoming part of Global Memory for humanity forever,” he said.

    The New7Wonders campaign began in 2011 with more than 1,200 entries from 220 countries and was narrowed down to 21 nominees, and later 14 finalists, until seven cities were declared winners. Along with Vigan who comprised the seven are Beirut, Lebanon; Doha, Qatar; Durban, South Africa; Havana, Cuba; Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia; and La Paz, Bolivia. New7Wonders is also the same institution that named the underground river of Puerto Princesa City in Palawan as one of the New7Wonders of Nature.

    Article by Karl Josef Lucena

    Google Map:
    Recent Comments
    What do you think about this article?
    ★★ ★★★ ★★★★ ★★★★★


    You might also like...
    Royale Parc Hotel Tagaytay: A Beautifully Rebuilt Property for Modern Travelers
  • TAGS:
  • Tagaytay
  • Hotel
  • Bantayog ng mga Bayani in QC: Remembering the Martyrs and Heroes of Martial Law
    Quezon City One-Day Guide: The Dream City of the North
    Quezon City Experience: The City’s First Interactive Museum
    UP Academic Oval: The Heart of UP Diliman