January 16, 2017

PH officially assumes 2017 ASEAN leadership

  • HOME
  • Blog
  • PH officially assumes 2017 ASEAN leadership
  • The Philippines officially launched its chairmanship of the Association of South East Asian Nations (ASEAN) chairmanship last January 15 at the SMX Convention Center in Davao City.


    President Rodrigo Roa Duterte led the launch which was attended by former presidents Fidel V. Ramos and Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo and dignitaries from ASEAN member nations. Duterte introduced the direction the ASEAN will take for 2017, centered on the theme “Partnering for Change, Engaging the World.”

    Duterte highlighted six points that he looks to prioritize during the country’s chairmanship:

    • placing our peoples at the core
    • working for regional peace and stability
    • pursuing maritime security and cooperation
    • advancing inclusive, innovation-driven growth
    • strengthening ASEAN resiliency
    • promoting ASEAN as a model of regionalism and as a global player

    A call to ASEAN member nations

    Duterte called on ASEAN members to adhere to the rule of law, urging them to protect regional interests through peace and non-interference.

    screen cap

    “In this journey, I call on all ASEAN’s Dialogue Partners to be unwavering in your support for the ASEAN’s continued development and for its important role in the region’s security, stability and growth. I also call on ASEAN Dialogue Partners to renew their dedication to the valued purposes and principles stated in the Treaty of Amity and Cooperation – including non-interference – in promoting regional peace and stability through abiding respect for the rule of law.”

    He also called on Filipinos “to take an active and constructive part during the Philippines’ Chairmanship of ASEAN.”

    “Now, more than ever, it is our spirit of “bayanihan” that has helped define us as a responsible leader of our region during this crucial time,” he said in his keynote speech.

    He likewise urged the ASEAN business community to “strengthen the capacities of micro, small and medium enterprises, promote and protect the welfare of migrant workers, and ensure social protection for the vulnerable sectors of society.”

    Duterte is looking to focus on one of the sub-regional mechanisms: the Brunei-Indonesia-Malaysia-Philippines East ASEAN Growth Area (BIMP-EAGA), which aims to accelerate economic development in each of the four nations.

    “Particular attention will be directed to sub-regional mechanisms, including BIMP-EAGA which the Philippines will also chair this year. They continue to be crucial in pursuing development initiatives at the grassroots,” he said.

    ASEAN 2017 commemorative stamp, coin unveiled


    The launch also saw the unveiling of the ASEAN 2017 commemorative stamp and P1 coin. The coin’s design features 10 stars representing each of the ASEAN member states: Philippines, Indonesia, Malaysia, Singapore, Thailand, Brunei Darussalam, Cambodia, Laos, Myanmar, and Vietnam.

    The limited-edition chairmanship stamp shows the official logo and theme for ASEAN 2017. Only 101,000 copies will be released. It can be purchased at the Manila Central Post Office starting today for P12.

    All images grabbed from RTVMalacanang Youtube Video

    Source: CNN Philippines, GMA News Online, SunStar Davao, The Philippine Star, BusinessWorld Online, Rappler

    Recent Comments
    What do you think about this article?
    ★★ ★★★ ★★★★ ★★★★★


    You might also like...
    PROMO: Beer and wine are overflowing at Nikkei Rockwell this summer!
    April 24, 2018
    Forbes Travel Guide CEO Visits Marco Polo Ortigas Manila
    April 24, 2018
    Prego Ristorante and Bar unveils Executive Lunch Menu
    April 23, 2018
    Online Travel Tax is Now Payable Online 24/7
    April 23, 2018
    Netflix Original Films Released in April 2018
    April 22, 2018